CLE Commission Sanctions 321 Attorneys for Noncompliance
The Ohio Supreme Court Commission on Continuing Legal Education today issued sanctions for 321 attorneys who failed to comply with their CLE requirements.
Of these, 74 were suspended from the practice of law either for being out of compliance for three consecutive reporting periods or for failing to comply for two consecutive periods and failing to pay their sanction for the last period. Additionally, three attorneys were suspended for failing to comply with new lawyers training requirements.
All of the 321 attorneys sanctioned today will be required to complete the required CLE and pay a sanction ranging from $55 to $750 depending on the degree of noncompliance.
Attorneys are required to complete a minimum of 24 CLE hours every two years. Judges are required to complete a minimum of 40 CLE hours every two years.
Ohio’s attorneys are split in two groups according to their last names for reporting purposes, with one group required to earn the requisite hours by the end of every even-numbered year and the other required to earn the requisite hours by the end of every odd-numbered year.
Created by Gov. Bar R. X, the commission administers the CLE requirements imposed on attorneys and judges pursuant to that rule and Gov. Jud. R. IV. The commission also accredits programs and activities that satisfy Ohio’s mandatory CLE requirements.
View a complete listing of the sanctioned attorneys.
PDF files may be viewed, printed, and searched using the free Acrobat® Reader
Acrobat Reader is a trademark of Adobe Systems Incorporated.