Court News Ohio
Court News Ohio
Court News Ohio

More than 600 New Attorneys to Join the Practice of Law

The justices of the Ohio Supreme Court will welcome more than 600 new attorneys to the state’s legal profession during two ceremonies in Columbus on Monday, Nov. 13. All new attorneys recently passed the Ohio bar exam and satisfied all other bar admissions requirements.

The bar applicants will take the attorney oath of office at the Ohio Theatre, 39 E. State St. in downtown Columbus. The first ceremony, starting at 10:30 a.m. will include new attorneys from five law schools:

  • Capital University
  • Northern Kentucky University
  • Ohio State University
  • University of Cincinnati
  • University of Dayton.

The second ceremony, at 2 p.m., will feature new attorneys from the following law schools:

  • Case Western Reserve University
  • Cleveland State University
  • Ohio Northern University
  • University of Akron
  • University of Toledo
  • 50 out-of-state law schools.

Justice R. Patrick DeWine will deliver remarks during both ceremonies, as will Randall Comer, president of the Ohio State Bar Association and Jessica Berg, dean of the Case Western Reserve University School of Law.

Both ceremonies will be streamed live on the Supreme Court’s website and also will be broadcast live on local PBS stations throughout the state.

Following each ceremony, new attorneys and their families are invited to the Thomas J. Moyer Ohio Judicial Center, home of the Ohio Supreme Court, where they may file their registration paperwork and learn about the Court’s new-lawyer mentoring program.