Court News Ohio
Court News Ohio
Court News Ohio

Attorneys’ Ohio Law Licenses Suspended for Failing to Register with Supreme Court

The Ohio Supreme Court suspended the Ohio law licenses of 264 attorneys who failed to register with the Office of Attorney Services for the biennium that began Sept. 1, 2019 and ends Aug. 31, 2021.

Last biennium, 191 attorneys failed to register and were suspended. View the official administrative action list of suspended attorneys this biennium.

A suspended attorney is barred from practicing law until satisfying the registration requirements and paying all registration fees and a $300 reinstatement fee. Any attorney who continues to practice law while under suspension may be referred for investigation for the unauthorized practice of law.

Attorneys engaged in the practice of law in Ohio are required by Rule VI of the Rules for the Government of the Bar of Ohio to register with the Supreme Court every two years and pay a $350 registration fee.

In July, the Office of Attorney Services sent attorneys currently registered with the state for active or corporate status a certificate of registration for the upcoming biennium and directed them to register for the next biennium by Sept. 1. They were also sent several email reminders of the registration deadline.

The now-suspended attorneys were sent notices in September alerting them of their noncompliance, but they didn’t file evidence of compliance with Rule VI or come into compliance with this rule (by paying the original $350 fee, plus a $50 late fee) within the late registration period that ended on Oct. 31.

Adobe PDF PDF files may be viewed, printed, and searched using the free Acrobat® Reader
Acrobat Reader is a trademark of Adobe Systems Incorporated.